How to Make your Self Published Books look less “Self-Published”

Often I am reading through a book. It’s good, I’m enjoying it and then right there in the middle of the page is a glaring error in editing. Either the wrong word or words that shouldn’t be there at all. Misspellings a plenty and even worse entire sentences that are repeated one after the other. This lets me know a book is self published and unfortunately detracts from the message the book is trying to convey. I myself am a learning self publisher and have been guilty of many errors in the learning process. Thankfully I haven’t pull the sentence repetition. Thankfully I haven’t pull the sentence repetition. (Checking to see if you’re paying attention.)

Any how, its hard as a self-publisher not having a team at your disposal. They must be so great. In fact I envy folks that are published conventionally for one big reason. They have a team of editors. Lucky!

I stumbled upon this great article that can help those struggling self-publishers like myself to understand some do’s and dont’s about our books.

Thank you Joel Friedlander for this great article:

http://www.thebookdesigner.com/2012/08/why-self-published-books-look-self-published/

Leave a Reply

