Play a Game – Gaming is Good for You

  1. Play a video or mobile game and write about what information was delivered through this medium.

So I played Fable Lost Chapters. It’s an old Original Xbox game but it is still my favorite. I love the nostalgia I guess. The game really introduced me to games that allowed for a lot of customization from hair, clothing, tattoos, to scars, and other things based on your morality rating. If you were really, really good you became a holy knight with halo and all but if you were really bad you grew horns and everyone hated you, even your wife and kids. (Which you were able to choose too.) You can buy and rent out houses as a slum lord or be nice and rent them for cheap. Also the world responded to how good/bad you were. A very fun experience that is far more true to our own experiences unlike the vast majority of games were you are not really connecting with your environment but merely moving through it. Upon looking the game up again online I found that they remade it in HD a year ago. Much to my excitement! Even though I don’t get to play video games much anymore I think I will be carving out some time for them when I get my copy of Fable Anniversary HD.

Some Fable screenshots:

I used to be a heavy gamer and believe that and being an avid reader and artist saved me when I collapsed into the deepest depression of my life. There is something to be said for fantasy. It helped me along until I was able to take the steps I needed to change my life for the better. Elder Scrolls: Oblivion is a game I logged more hours on than anyone in the United States over 900 hours. So I was a bit obsessive.

Some Oblivion screenshots:

  1. Review video and media in this discussion board. Write about what surprised you.

I loved the Ted Talk. I thought that Ms. McGonigal was an excellent speaker and moved the audience with her emotion. Her story certainly moved me and hit very close to home. I plan on downloading her game. A game to improve your life is an amazing idea and I feel she has only scratched the surface of what is possible with this new territory. I would love to sit down and have a chat with her face to face about the possibilities.

3. Here is an Infographic on why Gaming is Good for You! 🙂

From Visual.ly

Leave a Reply

